Skip to content

Trafficking in America

FINAL America

This painting was inspired by an atlas I found in a dumpster. (What was I doing in a dumpster? Sorry, you’ll have to just use your imagination on that one. It wasn’t as gross or crazy as you think.) It was a world atlas, with detailed maps of exotic places. I don’t know if it’s just me, but it seems that we’re always drawn to the exotic. Strange lands with diverse cultures and foreign languages are always just a plane ride away. Tons of friends (myself included) have ventured out to such exciting places for missions trips and service projects. Every summer, one friend or another comes back from a service trip to Tennessee or West Virginia or some other vanilla-flavored location. “Oh, that’s cool,” I usually mumble half-heartedly. What is it about caring for people in America that seems so… boring?

The issue comes up a lot in reference to sex trafficking. Friends have gone off to visit Cambodia, India, Mexico, or the Philippines and serve trafficked girls there. Now don’t hear me wrong; those projects are important and the people there are valuable. Those girls need the assistance; statistics suggest that trafficking is highly concentrated in those areas. It’s just that sometimes we fail to realize there are girls in Denver and Phoenix and even Indianapolis who need the same help. It’s not only an “over there” problem; it’s also a problem where we live.

As for the painting, I wanted it to be almost pretty. I chose the cute cursive fonts and patriotic colors to show the contradiction between “the land of the free” and the lives of the not so free girls I met over the summer. This week I am focusing on more positive subjects, however; I promise more lighthearted things are coming!

Kyle

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. willbedee #

    Thanks for your artwork. I am inspired. And for your thoughts.

    February 4, 2013
    • Will, so glad to hear from you! I am glad you enjoyed the post. I have been creeping away on pics of your new home and recent experiences in Guatemala. It looks like an incredible place to be… Work hard at your Spanish learning; it really pays off!! I hope all the Deeds are doing well! Que Dios te bendiga. (God bless!)
      Kyle

      February 7, 2013
  2. Park #

    That a girl Beez. Keep up the good work and get ready to sell that portfolio of work!

    the Dad 🙂

    February 4, 2013
  3. beccajoy8 #

    Kyle,
    I really like this. It’s such a valid point. You know my heart is for missions over seas… Adam and I were discussing this the other day though. He said that in all reality if you aren’t doing God’s work here then why would that be different somewhere else? It’s not like it gets any easier to talk about Jesus in other countries. Here it’s usually our fear of rejection or of others that stops us, somewhere else it might be fear of getting beaten or shot. So, it’s almost silly to think of life in the U.S. as vanilla. We just often miss our chance to make it mint chocolate chip or neopolitan, because we are too desensitized to our surroundings.
    Love you much. Keep on keepin on.
    -B

    February 4, 2013
    • Becca,
      Life with you is always mint chocolate chip or neapolitan. I think I could be friends with this Adam character. Don’t wait for your circumstances to change when God could use you today. P.s. don’t give up those big dreams of yours.
      Kyle

      February 7, 2013

Tell me what you think! Feedback is welcome.

