Skip to content

Mother

This is a little bit stylistically unusual for me (especially the two faces), but I think it needed to be. How does one paint a mother’s abuse?

 

This is a little bit stylistically unusual for me (especially the two faces), but I think it needed to be. How does one paint a mother’s abuse?

This is a little bit stylistically unusual for me (especially the two faces), but I think it needed to be. How does one paint a mother’s abuse?

I’ve been painting quite a lot recently. Someone opened the flood gates and suddenly I have a lot to say. I find myself awake at unusual hours because I badly need to finish before an idea is gone. Some days I am frazzled because I forgot to sleep enough, but it’s mostly just exciting with a little exhaustion on the side.

This page is called “Mother.” I’m not going to elaborate much because the circumstances deserve to remain mysterious and broken. It is the story of a girl whose mother turned the other way while the girl was raped by family members and then sold to another man. The pain of the physical abuse was sometimes overwhelming, yet her mother’s abuse was worse in some ways because it stemmed from intentional neglect. Many trafficked girls come from broken families without parental support. I pray they will find all the love, encouragement, and healing they need in their heavenly Father whose heart breaks with their own.

Kyle

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jeni B #

    Your art astounds me. And I love that you explained this piece too! Hope things are going well in Indy (where restaurants close way too early). 😉

    November 15, 2012
    • Jeni, that is so sweet. Things are quite lovely here in Indy, even though we have to eat before 10 p.m. on the weekends. I hope you are doing well also! Maybe we will bump into one another over Thanksgiving break! I would love to see your smiling face.

      November 18, 2012
  2. The Dad #

    That’s Beezer!

    November 15, 2012
    • The Dad #

      I dislike auto-correct…supposed to say “thata Beezer!”

      November 15, 2012
      • Autocorrect will get you every time. The 21st century is a dangerous place, Dad.

        November 18, 2012
  3. Dear Kyle, I am so impressed by your expressions of love & compassion. You are gifted by the One who made all good things. I have witnessed the devastation caused by mothers to our adopted & foster children. Your painting hits the mark. God bless you as you grow in your ministry.
    Shalom,
    jeff

    November 15, 2012
    • Jeff, I had never thought about how this might relate to the lives of adopted children. I love it when people are able to connect with something I made in a new way, although this connection is a sad one. I am thankful that God is always a perfect loving parent and I pray your kids will experience healing through his love. Thank you for your kind words!

      November 18, 2012
  4. Carolyn Ginder #

    You and your life and your talent are wonderful. I really enjoy your blog. All those who wrote ahead of me have expressed my feelings perhaps better than I could have. Even your Dad.
    Love,
    Grandma

    November 16, 2012
    • Grandma, thank you for being so supportive and involved in my life. I can’t wait to see you (and Grandpa) in just a few days!

      November 18, 2012

Tell me what you think! Feedback is welcome.

