Skip to content

Spiders and flies

This is about to be an ordinary post about the stuff of life. Nothing profound here. If you’re not into that, you can just skip it. I won’t be sad. (But you might as well finish reading because it’s not that long anyway.)

I am going home in just two weeks. We keep a group calendar at the Hope House, so I wrote “Kyle goes home to Indiana” on August 1. The next day, E scribbled, “Kyle comes back to North Carolina” on August 2. I think that was when I realized E and I are friends. I mean real friends. We have shared jokes and stories and experiences and things we like to do together. She makes me laugh. In case you weren’t already aware, her goal in life is to be a chihuahua lady. (As in, an owner of a socially unacceptable number of chihuahuas.) Every time we see someone with a dog, she gets so excited. Today we passed a car with a dog hanging out the window. Then we realized there were two dogs. Then three dogs. Then four. This lady had a lot of dogs in a very little truck. E said, “Aw man. Everyone has a pet and all I have is spiders and flies.” Her exaggerated, pathetic sadness kept us both laughing for the remainder of the car ride home. I’m going to miss her a lot. I really don’t think it’s a coincidence I ended up in the mountains in western North Carolina with E. It seems a little too perfect that we happen to have so much in common. She loves running, art, and Spanish. (Can you say soul mates?) I’m just really thankful God is incredibly good at orchestrating gifts like friendship with a girl from another country. I know we’ll be keeping in touch. It’s hard to realize I’m going home to my life’s previous routine while she is going to face the same obstacles and challenges that stand before her today. I wish I could pick up the pieces and put it all back together for her. I want to give her a college education, a family, a home, a visa. There are so many issues to address, and she’s only one girl out of thousands of trafficking victims in the U.S. It makes me realize how important it is for organizations like the Hope House to have a long-term commitment to these girls. All the more reason to do what I can to support their ministry.

Kyle

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dear Kyle, you & E have blessed each other. Your ministry has been an inspiration to me. I don’t know much about E’s situation, but why don’t you bring her home? Crazy idea, but God wants us to do crazy, radical things. With God, all things are possible. We would help.
    God bless you, Kyle.
    jeff

    July 19, 2012
  2. Aubry Daman #

    Praise God for the work He has done and will continue to do in both of you! 🙂 What great blessings He has so graciously granted you both through your time there,
    Aubry

    July 19, 2012

Tell me what you think! Feedback is welcome.

